Skip to Main Content

 


reDesign_white reDesign_white
 

The ALS Association Greater Chicago Chapter
220 W Huron Street, Suite 4003 | Chicago, IL 60654
Main 312.932.0000 | Fax 312.268.5277 | alsachicago.org


GREATER CHICAGO CHAPTER STAFF   Facebook.com/alsachicagoTwitter.com/alschicago

Julie M.Sharpe
Executive Director
julie@alsachicago.org | ext. 10

DEVELOPMENT

Maryilene Blondell
Development Director
maryilene@alsachicago.org | ext. 16

Beatrix Kamoen
Marketing & Events Coordinator
Walk to Defeat ALS Program Coordinator
beatrix@alsachicago.org | ext. 13

Sarah Brandt
Volunteer Program Coordinator
sarah@alsachicago.org | ext. 27

Chris Johnson
Administrative Coordinator
chris@alsachicago.org | ext. 26

CARE SERVICES

Joumana Baroody, RN, BSN
Director of Care Services
joumana@alsachicago.org | Mobile 312.931.7127 | Main ext. 15

Tony Cook, LPN
Care Services Coordinator
tony@alsachicago.org | Mobile 312.257.5434 | Main ext. 25

Audrey Scafidi, LPN
Care Services Coordinator
audrey@alsachicago.org | Mobile 708.785.2524

Kellie Branch-Dircks, LCSW
Social Worker, Central Illinois
kellie@alsachicago.org

Kaveri S. Bhatnagar, M.A., CCC-SLP
Speech Language Pathologist
kaveri@alsachicago.org

 

ABOUT OUR FOUNDER

Edmund J. Kucharski was born January 30, 1916 in Chicago, where he lived his entire life. He was educated in the Chicago Public Schools. Kucharski continued his education at the University of Illinois and the John Marshall School of Law, where he received his law degree in 1941.

Kucharski devoted the majority of his working life to serving the citizens of Illinois. He became the youngest elected official in the history of the Chicago City Council. He also served as Cook County Treasurer from 1966-1970. In addition, he was Assistant Secretary of State and GOP County Chairman. Upon leaving public office, Kucharski served as Vice President of Amalgamated Bank, a position he held until he lost his battle with ALS in 1994 at the age of 78.

It was in high school that Kucharski’s keen ability to play baseball was first discovered. He played baseball both in college and in the minor leagues. Ironically, Lou Gehrig was his idol and Kucharski always aspired to the goals and ideals of his hero.

Edmund J. Kucharski and his wife, Martha, were married just six months shy of 25 years when ALS took his life.

When friends remember Edmund J. Kucharski, they remember a kind and sensitive man who was extremely generous. He was also very ambitious and strong willed, traits that served him well throughout his life.

Martha M. Kucharski founded the ALS Association-Greater Chicago Chapter in memory of her late husband.

 

 

 

 
 
 

 



ABOUT SSL CERTIFICATES

The ALS Association Greater Chicago Chapter
(312) 932-0000 - 220 West Huron Street - Suite 4003 - Chicago, IL 60654

 
All content and works posted on this website are owned and copyrighted by The ALS Association. © 2013
Lou Gehrig® used with permission of the Rip Van Winkle Foundation / www.LouGehrig.com

]]